Sign in to follow this  
TravelingGeek

GWS9 Count Down

TravelingGeek    140

I'm getting really excited... It's gonna be a great time.  Looks like the weather will be typical... stormy!

I fly on Thursday which looks like the best day of the weekend...

post-1149-131759833931_thumb.jpg

HoustonControl    1,046

Setting up my pocket queries for the trip.  Did a PQ along a route from Philly to GW9 and sorted by favorite points -- might stop for a few.  There's a webcam cache in Warren.  Make sure you have a sign with you that says where you're from!  http://coord.info/GCMHEM

TravelingGeek    140

0700 departure planned:  CXO LIT LEX JHW

OMG!  I fly a lot for a living and  I totaly missed that JHW would be Jamestown... it's not like I lived there for the first 18 years of my life or anything.  Have fun... it is a SMALL airport.  :D :D :D

I'm flying into Erie, because that's the closest Marriott to GWS. What a drag.

However, for Jamestown, I recommend:

• Pizza -- Lena's on 2nd street

• Wings -- Collage Inn on Falconer St.  The hottest is not on the menu, you have to ask for it... but I forget what they call it.

• Texas Hots -- I like Johny's Lunch on Fairmount, but others like AJ's... they have a couple of locations. Someone please explain to me why texas hotdogs are so popular in Jamestown, but not here.
  • Good Beer -- Southern Tier Brewing.  This was not available when I lived or visited here regularly, but I had their IPA in Washington a couple of years ago and was really impressed.  I've wanted to try their others ever since... this is my big chance.

Anyone interested in having good local beer on Sunday is welcome to join me and a couple of friends at Southern Tier brewery.  The Weekend Afternoon Tour begins at the Empty Pint at 3pm and 5pm Saturday and 3pm on Sunday. We recommend arriving early to ensure a spot because each tour is limited to 25 people.  It's a little west of Jamestown.