Jump to content


Photo

Oregon 650 and GSAK


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#21 Baytown Bert

Baytown Bert

    Short fat dude with good hygiene

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,311 posts
  • LocationBaytown, Texas

Posted 07 October 2014 - 01:42 PM

I put them in the charger and they are both 198 out of 200.  ???


TXGA SETX Representative


#22 Baytown Bert

Baytown Bert

    Short fat dude with good hygiene

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,311 posts
  • LocationBaytown, Texas

Posted 08 October 2014 - 10:42 AM

No cigar.  It cannot locate the satellites and I reinstalled the firmware update.  How do I go back one update?  I can't see how to do it in Webupdater.  I really hate to do an OEM reset and lose my settings.


TXGA SETX Representative


#23 GASTX

GASTX

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 446 posts
  • LocationHumble, Texas

Posted 08 October 2014 - 03:38 PM

You cant with webupdater, go to the site listed below and download the previous firmware version for your unit. Once you have it copy it to the garmin directory on your GPS and rename the file gupdate.gcd and then reboot the GPS. A note will pop up confirming you want to install an older version and answer yes and it will load the older version.

 

 

NOTE: this is a repository of all garmin software, it is safe to use. I have used it for years and also keep a local mirror copy of this site for local use.

http://www.gawisp.com/perry/oregon/


Edited by GASTX, 08 October 2014 - 05:28 PM.

Posted Image

#24 Baytown Bert

Baytown Bert

    Short fat dude with good hygiene

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,311 posts
  • LocationBaytown, Texas

Posted 08 October 2014 - 03:51 PM

Thank you!  For reasons I can't explain, I have it working again.


TXGA SETX Representative


#25 GASTX

GASTX

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 446 posts
  • LocationHumble, Texas

Posted 08 October 2014 - 05:27 PM

They get a better fix if you turn them on first?  :o

 

Glad to hear you got it going


Edited by GASTX, 08 October 2014 - 05:43 PM.

Posted Image

#26 Baytown Bert

Baytown Bert

    Short fat dude with good hygiene

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,311 posts
  • LocationBaytown, Texas

Posted 08 October 2014 - 06:23 PM

I'll tell you what.  I don't want to do no danged OEM reset or send it in if I can help it.  I pulled the micro SD card, changed batteries again, rebooted a couple of times, calibrated the compass and it began working.  If it fails again, I'll try the firmware downgrade and if that fails,  I'll send it in for repair.  In the meantime, I have my 550 to fall back to.  Its very stable.


TXGA SETX Representative





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users