Jump to content


Photo

"Find Caches Along a Route" Feature Inop


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Team Troglodyte

Team Troglodyte

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 382 posts
  • LocationConroe, TX

Posted 30 November 2013 - 06:09 AM

I don't know how many users of the "Find Caches Along a Route" feature of geocaching.com are on the forum, but if you are a user, be advised that this feature is currently not working.  There is no clear timeline for when it will be restored.

 

http://forums.ground...howtopic=317500



#2 GASTX

GASTX

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • LocationHumble, Texas

Posted 30 November 2013 - 09:08 AM

They didnt get their band aid fix in as thought. Sounds like next week now for the fix
Posted Image

#3 HoustonControl

HoustonControl

    Charter Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9,946 posts
  • LocationBaytown

Posted 30 November 2013 - 10:11 AM

Yeah, who would possibly need to find caches along a route over Thanksgiving?  :tickedoff:


img.aspx?txt=What+in+the+Hell?&uid=1dd8c

#4 KeyResults

KeyResults

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,326 posts
  • LocationTomball

Posted 30 November 2013 - 12:06 PM

I wonder if it is still working from within GSAK V8?


Why am I all sweatty and late? Umm...

#5 Team Troglodyte

Team Troglodyte

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 382 posts
  • LocationConroe, TX

Posted 01 December 2013 - 05:25 AM

I wonder if it is still working from within GSAK V8?

 

I haven't tried that, but since I have a (short) upcoming road trip, I tested the work around mentioned on the forum using www.yournavigation.org maps, and it worked acceptably well.  It just adds an additional layer or two of operations to get the results plus a fairly easy learning curve for the websites map operation.



#6 GASTX

GASTX

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • LocationHumble, Texas

Posted 03 December 2013 - 12:55 PM

A work around until it is fixed (from GC.com forums). Works fine also

 

Workaround: Go to http://www.yournavigation.org
Fill in your from/to, zoom in/out with mouse wheel, etc.
Click on Export tab, select gpx. Export.
In Geocaching's "Find caches along a route", click on the right-most tab labeled "Upload a Route".
After the route has been uploaded, you can use it to create a PQ.


  • cachestacker likes this
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users