• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 newana95

newana95

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 20 September 2013 - 01:42 PM

I am new to this! I need help! How do I start? Is there an app? I'm in the Houston Area :)

#2 Baytown Bert

Baytown Bert

Short fat dude with good hygiene

• Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,172 posts
  • LocationBaytown, Texas

Posted 20 September 2013 - 01:44 PM

Slow down... take a deep breath and read this:

http://ourbaytown.co...rt/geocache.htm

TXGA SETX Representative

#3 green-eyed

green-eyed

• Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 628 posts
  • LocationLeague City

Posted 20 September 2013 - 02:07 PM

yes, there are apps for your smartphone if you do not have a separate hand-held GPS.  i use the geocaching.com app for my android.  started off using that only and now use a GPS and my phone app, depending on where i am and if i planned to cache somewhere ahead of time to program the GPS.

where in the houston area are you?  there are a variety of monthly meet-and-greet events you can attend and meet other local geocachers.  some are lunchtime and others dinner time during the week and often on weekends.

welcome to your new addictive hobby!

the crazy lady often found caching in a dress and heels...
Posted Image

#4 Dhaulaghiri

Dhaulaghiri

• Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 447 posts
  • LocationRice Village, Houston

Posted 20 September 2013 - 05:55 PM

Hi, welcome to our great addiction hobby!

As Green-Eyed said, where in Houston are you, it's a big city!

Lot's of new places to see & explore!

"Do or do not, there is no try." -Yoda

"Some say he can get FTF on a 5 terrain cache blindfolded. Some say he's never decrypted a hint and doesn't own a GPSr. All we know is... he's called The STIG!" -Houston Control

img.aspx?txt=View+my+profile&uid=7e0df5f

#5 JustKeely

JustKeely

• Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 781 posts
  • LocationKaty

Posted 20 September 2013 - 07:27 PM