#1 Kyrenx

Kyrenx

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • LocationWebster

Posted 13 April 2013 - 05:28 PM

Greetings everyone!

I wouldn't go so far as to say I'm 100% new to geocaching as I've been joining some of my mates in finds up near Downtown and the Museum District sporatically since late 2011 (and yet I still barely only have maybe 30 finds), but I've decided to continue this hobby at my new residence and was wondering if there was constructive advice any of you seasoned cachers could offer to someone still a bit "wet behind the ears" on the area. Many thanks in advance and I hope to meet some of you on the trails in the future! :D

Edited by Kyrenx, 15 April 2013 - 07:30 AM.

img.aspx?txt=I'm+not+lost!+I'm+Geocachin

#2 Cyborg_TEK

Cyborg_TEK

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • LocationSpring, TX

Posted 13 April 2013 - 06:54 PM

Welcome!  I'm fairly new to HGCS also and only actively caching since Sept (although a geocaching.com member for a few years) but can share a bit I've learned over the past 8 months.  Don't run around getting all of the ones around your residence right away.  A fairly significant percentage of cachers will at one time try their streak of a cache a day for a year and a day.  The ones close to your residence are easy and tempting but if you are planing to work a streak, it definitely becomes more difficult throughout the year if these have already been found. I started my streak on Jan 1 this year and made the mistake of grabbing half of the ones around my "circle of death" when I started caching so now I'm planning routes on my work travels that allow me to continue while I still save some close to home on those days that I feel poor or having bad weather.

Edited by Cyborg_TEK, 13 April 2013 - 08:49 PM.

"Searching is half the fun: life is much more manageable when thought of as a scavenger hunt as opposed to a surprise party."

img.aspx?&uid=4b9d9c59-54d9-4f4d-b418-04

#3 cachestacker

cachestacker

• Senior Members