8 replies to this topic

#1 heftydude

heftydude

• Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 700 posts
  • LocationHouston

Posted 26 September 2012 - 06:27 PM

So apparently the Cub Scouts in my Den have had geocaching taught to them in geography class at school and now a number of them are interested. I now have parents asking me for GPS advice. Other than my 62s, I have no experience with some of the more affordable units. Does anybody have any recommendations or pointers to online reviews for the affordable GPS units? these are kids afterall and so I am sure the parents don't want to drop $400 on a GPS.
Posted Image

#2 thacatfish

thacatfish

• Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 670 posts
  • Locationmt. belvieu, Texas

Posted 26 September 2012 - 06:31 PM

Garmin etrex is really good. I used one for my first 1500 caches. About 100 new and u can find em in pawn shops and Maybe eBay for about 40 bucks

#3 log dawgs

log dawgs

• Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 981 posts
  • LocationThe Woodlands, TX

Posted 26 September 2012 - 09:23 PM

So apparently the Cub Scouts in my Den have had geocaching taught to them in geography class at school and now a number of them are interested. I now have parents asking me for GPS advice. Other than my 62s, I have no experience with some of the more affordable units. Does anybody have any recommendations or pointers to online reviews for the affordable GPS units? these are kids afterall and so I am sure the parents don't want to drop $400 on a GPS.

Well I would tell you one of the best places to by a good cheap GPS is a Pawn Shop, but I know where you live. Those people would never walk into a Pawn Shop. Knowing the business like very few, 3rd Generation Pawn Broker, I can tell you check it out. They will let you and never pay what the sticker says. Take 25% off and say out the door, which means tax included.