35 replies to this topic

#1 skippyp

skippyp

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • LocationPearland, TX

Posted 04 March 2012 - 05:08 PM

Fully recognizing that I'm fairly new to the sport, I'm totally lost on what people think is appropriate for swag. Used bottlecaps? a rock? advertisements? Frankly I'd prefer a TNLN than a penny.

So call me a charter member of the SOBS (society of better swag) because if I were to advertise my business I'd at least do it with a bottle opener or pen or some other fun, useful thing. Today alone I CITO'd a 2 year old business magnet calendar, paper straw wrapper, some torn up stick-on letters, and a bent beer bottle cap. I also notice the number of trackables that are going missing.

Am I just being a crab? I love seeing the little dinosaurs and other fun things for the kids- though I leave that stuff for the next cacher. Maybe I'm bad at choosing which caches to go after? I have a bunch of fun swag things I was going to start putting out, but if people are going to leave trash in trade, then I'll just be the SOB(s) who TNLN.

So all kidding with the name aside, has this always been the way? If not, how can we up the ante on the swagstakes?

#2 SockPuppet

SockPuppet

Actor

• Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,810 posts

Posted 04 March 2012 - 06:34 PM

I learned long ago not to try to control the habits of other cachers.
Posted Image

#3 KeyResults

KeyResults

• Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,306 posts
  • LocationTomball

Posted 04 March 2012 - 06:37 PM