Jump to content


Photo

Garmin 62s software update


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 TravelingGeek

TravelingGeek

    TravelingGeek

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,446 posts

Posted 19 November 2011 - 09:45 PM

Basecamp just told me to update. I took a look at the "Improvements to the geocaching experience" feature and the screen shots look good. I hope it works for GC.com as well as Opencaching.com caches.

Here's the changes:


Changes made from version 3.50 to 3.60:
  • Fixed an issue with the reporting of pressure from the barometric altimeter (GPSMAP 62s/62st/78s/78sc)
Changes made from version 3.40 to 3.50:
  • Added Photo Viewer application
  • Improvements to the geocaching experience. See TrailTech(http://garmin.blogs....geocaching.html) for more information.
  • Fixed a potential hang on startup when importing large numbers of waypoints, tracks, routes, or geocaches
  • Fixed issue with very long geocache descriptions
  • Fixed shutdown when reviewing certain geocache descriptions
  • Fixed issue where some auto-archived tracks would be named in English regardless of user language
  • Fixed bug that could cause some geocaches to not import
  • Fixed issue with track log recording while using the stopwatch
  • Fixed issue with the anchor drag alarm
  • Fixed issue with total ascent and total descent fields not displaying values greater than 9999 meters
  • Modified default map trails to appear as dashed red lines
  • Fixed potential issue with screenshot color reproduction
Changes made from version 3.00 to 3.40:
  • Added support for advanced geocache logging with OpenCaching.com. See TrailTech(http://garmin.blogs....cachingcom.html) for more information.
  • Added Garmin Spanner mode to GPSMAP 78, GPSMAP 78s, and GPSMAP 78sc devices
  • Fixed issue with multilingual custom POI files
  • Fixed issue with setting proximity alerts. The unit of measure can be changed by entering the 'Proximity Alarms' page, pressing the 'Menu' key, and selecting 'Change Units'

Posted Image

#2 KeyResults

KeyResults

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,281 posts
  • LocationTomball

Posted 20 November 2011 - 11:05 PM

Thx. I had several hangs since last update, but I couldn't tell if it was my gsak file or not. Actually had to resort to my phone after while today...what a pain. Hopefully this update gets it back for me.
Why am I all sweatty and late? Umm...

#3 TravelingGeek

TravelingGeek

    TravelingGeek

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,446 posts

Posted 20 November 2011 - 11:53 PM

Seems like the new geocaching UI elements work for my GPXs. Only had a few minutes to try at hope. Will get into the field later this week.
Posted Image

#4 KeyResults

KeyResults

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,281 posts
  • LocationTomball

Posted 19 June 2012 - 02:13 PM

Another update just released for Garmin 62S - Version 4.30

http://www8.garmin.c...ils.jsp?id=4995 for details of each revision.

My upgrade went without a hitch. Your mileage may vary. Each update for me since 3.4 has been really good and has added stability and useful features. If you haven't been running basecamp/webupdater and you are a Garmin GPSMAP 62 owner you may want to take a look. System performance and utility has been significantly improved.

PEACE,

Kenny
Why am I all sweatty and late? Umm...

#5 HoustonControl

HoustonControl

    Charter Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9,811 posts
  • LocationBaytown

Posted 21 June 2012 - 03:11 PM

Thanks. I just updated mine now. We'll see how good it is on my next outing.
img.aspx?txt=What+in+the+Hell?&uid=1dd8c

#6 KeyResults

KeyResults

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,281 posts
  • LocationTomball

Posted 16 September 2012 - 07:30 PM

FYI - Basecamp and Garmin 62s update as of Aug 30, 2012.

Two things noticed:
1) A new thing called Adventures
2) support for tempe sensor
Why am I all sweatty and late? Umm...

#7 Great Birds

Great Birds

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,958 posts
  • LocationHouston

Posted 18 September 2012 - 04:17 AM

I've noticed faster and more reliable booting. Boot failures have been one of my main gripes about the 62s. Other than booting, it was the same old GPS for me this past weekend.

#8 KeyResults

KeyResults

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,281 posts
  • LocationTomball

Posted 29 September 2012 - 10:45 AM

FYI: There's another Garmin 62s update to 4.5
Why am I all sweatty and late? Umm...

#9 TravelingGeek

TravelingGeek

    TravelingGeek

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,446 posts

Posted 29 September 2012 - 11:38 PM

The website forced me to update the communicator plug in. Now all I get is this:

Attached File  mydashboardsucks.jpg   16.22KB   19 downloads

Damn you, Garmin!
Posted Image

#10 Mr Muddy Buddy

Mr Muddy Buddy

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,156 posts
  • LocationThe Middle of Nowhere, in the Great State of Confusion

Posted 03 October 2012 - 11:58 AM

I upgraded to 4.5 and then I had to go through and reset the order of my screens, and settings the way I had them before.
Not a big hassle, but unexpected.
I probably had to do this after the last update, but my memory is shorter than it used to be.
Posted Image

#11 heftydude

heftydude

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 687 posts
  • LocationHouston

Posted 06 October 2012 - 09:54 PM

The latest upgrade is crashing when I select a cache and then try to go to another screen and use the compass. Very annoying and unacceptable.
Posted Image

#12 heftydude

heftydude

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 687 posts
  • LocationHouston

Posted 06 October 2012 - 09:55 PM

The latest upgrade is crashing when I select a cache and then try to go to another screen and use the compass. Very annoying and unacceptable.

Looking for a way to downgrade a version now.
Posted Image

#13 heftydude

heftydude

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 687 posts
  • LocationHouston

Posted 06 October 2012 - 10:38 PM

Found a way to downgrade to 4.3 and all seems to be working now. We will see how it goes on the bike trails tomorrow.
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users