• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 djmmcj5

djmmcj5

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 August 2011 - 08:09 PM

Howdy! I am new to this, my son(6.5 years old) and I just started about a month ago.  We have found 108 caches so far.  My question is how often do yall find pathtags? We have found 2 different ones so far.  Just wandering how often yall run across them?  thanks in advance.

#2 cachestacker

cachestacker

• Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,991 posts
  • LocationClear Lake

Posted 22 August 2011 - 08:12 PM

Unfortunately, not too often in the field.  But every once in a while.  It really makes it a nice find when you get one.

You'll find a lot more at your local events, as cachers who have one (and have some on them) are usually willing to give one of theirs to new cachers.  O0 
Posted Image

#3 djmmcj5

djmmcj5

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 August 2011 - 08:15 PM

That would be neat to see them at an event, but its truly such a great rush and such a thrill to find them in the wild!  My son especially loves to find "treasures". 

#4 cachestacker

cachestacker

• Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,991 posts
  • LocationClear Lake

Posted 22 August 2011 - 08:27 PM

Several of the geocaching stores that sell coins also sell 'generic' pathtags where you can buy 5 or 10 -- so he could 'have his own' to trade out with ones found in caches. 
Posted Image

#5 crane1223

crane1223

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 22 August 2011 - 09:05 PM

Pathtags are really exciting to find in caches in the wild.  They are also easily overlooked.  I keep hoping to find some when I go out of town.  P.S. welcome to Geocaching!

#6 TravelingGeek

TravelingGeek

TravelingGeek

• Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,468 posts

Posted 23 August 2011 - 12:05 AM

Hi djmmcj5!