Jump to content


Photo

Garmin Chirp


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#21 Great Birds

Great Birds

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,970 posts
  • LocationHouston

Posted 19 October 2010 - 01:01 PM

Does this make the cache a 5 difficulty because it requires special equipment?

#22 Team Four Paw

Team Four Paw

    Site Owner/Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 4,329 posts
  • LocationKaty, TX.

Posted 19 October 2010 - 02:57 PM

Submitting my Chirp cache for approval tonight  >:D

img.aspx?txt=Cache+Happy!&uid=0a8c0638-d


Help me help you.
Report abusive, offensive, and or objectionable message posts by clicking the Report link found in the lower right near the quote buttons.


Site Owner & Administrator, Houston GeoCaching Society | Exec. VP, Texas Geocaching Association


#23 georeyna

georeyna

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,373 posts
  • LocationH-Town

Posted 20 October 2010 - 08:52 AM

I have the Colorado..will it work with the chirp?  I am looking forward for the first chirp cache to be placed!!



#24 georeyna

georeyna

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,373 posts
  • LocationH-Town

Posted 20 October 2010 - 09:14 AM

Well I looked up the answer to my own question.. No the Colorado does not support the Chirp, eventhough it has the ANT capability to do so, it is not designed to do so.  I wonder if Garmin will upgrade the Colorado........  :tickedoff:

#25 TravelingGeek

TravelingGeek

    TravelingGeek

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,483 posts

Posted 20 October 2010 - 09:29 AM

My chirp just shipped.
Posted Image

#26 CriffRee

CriffRee

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 329 posts
  • LocationKaty Texas

Posted 21 October 2010 - 02:37 PM

I picked up the display model at the REI in Willowbrook.
Playing with it now.
Got it programmed, but that's about it.
I've updated my Oregon with the 4.x OS which adds CHIRP.
Now I need to see what kind of perimeter I get when as I approach.

#27 OneStepCloser

OneStepCloser

    TeamOSC

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,008 posts
  • LocationHouston and Chicago

Posted 22 October 2010 - 07:17 AM

I picked up the display model at the REI in Willowbrook.
Playing with it now.
Got it programmed, but that's about it.
I've updated my Oregon with the 4.x OS which adds CHIRP.
Now I need to see what kind of perimeter I get when as I approach.


You know, in the right urban setting you can really mess with people with this....  :D

Posted Image

Lead By Example.

Hide Great Caches in Great Locations!

Just Say NO to Cut-n-Paste!

Friends don't let friends mark coords with iPhones. Be kind, use a GPSr.


#28 Team Four Paw

Team Four Paw

    Site Owner/Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 4,329 posts
  • LocationKaty, TX.

Posted 22 October 2010 - 07:38 AM

I went out to place my cache/chirp the other day but forgot the container.. still haven't placed mine yet.

I will say if you get one and you're having trouble connecting to it.. Step away from any other devices like cell phones and laptops with wireless. They totally stomp on it. I had to go outside with GPS and Chirp to get them connected. Then it was hit and miss.

15' seemed to be the average distance for detection. It's pretty neat and I think it will make for some interesting cache scenarios.

img.aspx?txt=Cache+Happy!&uid=0a8c0638-d


Help me help you.
Report abusive, offensive, and or objectionable message posts by clicking the Report link found in the lower right near the quote buttons.


Site Owner & Administrator, Houston GeoCaching Society | Exec. VP, Texas Geocaching Association


#29 TravelingGeek

TravelingGeek

    TravelingGeek

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,483 posts

Posted 22 October 2010 - 08:42 AM

It should be just 2.4 Ghz, right? 
:tickedoff:    :tickedoff: 


Posted Image

#30 TravelingGeek

TravelingGeek

    TravelingGeek

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,483 posts

Posted 27 October 2010 - 10:26 PM

Got mine today and it programmed up real nice.  I didn't put down a waypoint or co-ord, so I think it should work "whereever"... say walking around at an event.  Should be interesting.

TFP, did you cache get published?

Posted Image

#31 Texas Dreamweaver

Texas Dreamweaver

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,015 posts
  • LocationRichmond, Texas

Posted 28 October 2010 - 09:07 PM

I need to get several of these for my wife.... 1 for her cellphone, keys, car, sunglasses,........ ;D

#32 Maxwell's Hammer

Maxwell's Hammer

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 168 posts
  • LocationHouston, Texas

Posted 01 November 2010 - 09:35 AM

I also need several of these.  Everyone knows that if it isn't tethered to me, it doesn't stick around very long.  I've taken to putting my name on my hiking sticks in the hope that when other cachers find them where I left them (at the cache site), they will take pity on me and return them to me.  :-\

#33 jackrock

jackrock

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 471 posts

Posted 05 November 2010 - 08:16 PM

I found my first chirp today as a leg on a multi.  On my first try it didn't work.  Realized I needed a firmware update.  Worked great when I went back after that.  The download was fast.  Now I'm thinking about how/where I might use a chirp. 

#34 Baytown Bert

Baytown Bert

    Short fat dude with good hygiene

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,362 posts
  • LocationBaytown, Texas

Posted 06 November 2010 - 03:52 AM

Which model are you using?  Did it just pop-up and tell you it found a Chirp?


I found my first chirp today as a leg on a multi.  On my first try it didn't work.  Realized I needed a firmware update.  Worked great when I went back after that.  The download was fast.  Now I'm thinking about how/where I might use a chirp.


TXGA SETX Representative


#35 jackrock

jackrock

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 471 posts

Posted 06 November 2010 - 05:30 AM

I'm using the Oregon 550.  I had to update to the latest firmware off the Garmin website.  Then turn on chirp searching through the setup.

You can see on the map screen (I think another one too) that chirp searching is active (which is good because that draws battery power, you would not want to leave it on when not needed).  When I got close to the chirp it just downloaded immediately so the download screen came up.

Posted Image

The only mistake I made was taking this screenshot during the download; it froze the screen.  I turned off my unit and turned it back on and it downloaded immediately.


#36 Baytown Bert

Baytown Bert

    Short fat dude with good hygiene

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,362 posts
  • LocationBaytown, Texas

Posted 06 November 2010 - 05:35 AM

So after everything else, you would just about need to know there was a chirp cache you were going for, or risk drawing excessively on your batteries, right?  I have the Oregon 450.

TXGA SETX Representative


#37 jackrock

jackrock

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 471 posts

Posted 07 November 2010 - 06:54 AM

Yes, you would not want to leave it in search mode as it is continuously looking for a chirp when activated. 

#38 Baytown Bert

Baytown Bert

    Short fat dude with good hygiene

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,362 posts
  • LocationBaytown, Texas

Posted 07 November 2010 - 07:00 AM

I like the idea of it, but it sounds like it has a ways to go before it goes mainstream.

TXGA SETX Representative


#39 jackrock

jackrock

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 471 posts

Posted 07 November 2010 - 05:58 PM

I agree.  Part of that will be figuring out the possibilities.  I ordered one but I don't know yet what I will do with it.  I'm not sure how many people in my area have a compatible device so I'll be watching the one that has been placed already.

#40 Team Four Paw

Team Four Paw

    Site Owner/Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 4,329 posts
  • LocationKaty, TX.

Posted 21 January 2011 - 08:58 PM

Garmin Colorado gets chirp support.

http://www8.garmin.c...ree.jsp?id=4667

img.aspx?txt=Cache+Happy!&uid=0a8c0638-d


Help me help you.
Report abusive, offensive, and or objectionable message posts by clicking the Report link found in the lower right near the quote buttons.


Site Owner & Administrator, Houston GeoCaching Society | Exec. VP, Texas Geocaching Association





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users