Jump to content


Photo

Isn't there a Minimum Requirement?


  • Please log in to reply
194 replies to this topic

#161 bbqbob2

bbqbob2

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,526 posts
  • LocationSEHo

Posted 11 February 2011 - 08:57 AM

I rolled through that cache page two times, figured I'd missed something. Guess less is more.

#162 HoustonControl

HoustonControl

    Charter Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9,913 posts
  • LocationBaytown

Posted 11 February 2011 - 09:36 AM

And it's less than 400' from an existing puzzle cache by USMorrows.  I guess PR is slipping a bit...
img.aspx?txt=What+in+the+Hell?&uid=1dd8c

#163 bbqbob2

bbqbob2

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,526 posts
  • LocationSEHo

Posted 11 February 2011 - 09:43 AM

And where would that puzzle cache be exactly? With the coords in hand I could make a case to PR. ::) No other motive for me, no.....

#164 Baytown Bert

Baytown Bert

    Short fat dude with good hygiene

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,314 posts
  • LocationBaytown, Texas

Posted 11 February 2011 - 11:22 AM

I saw that this morning also.  I guess the fellow/lady doesn't want us to post anything for a find, right?  :angel:

I guess there's no minimum requirement on cache descriptions either... http://coord.info/GC2NG74  :o


TXGA SETX Representative


#165 TravelingGeek

TravelingGeek

    TravelingGeek

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,482 posts

Posted 11 February 2011 - 03:40 PM

I saw that this morning also.  I guess the fellow/lady doesn't want us to post anything for a find, right?  :angel:


HA HA  that would be funning...  all blank logs.  LOL
Posted Image

#166 kianlo

kianlo

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 687 posts
  • LocationSugar Land

Posted 18 February 2011 - 11:28 PM

OK, so now I'm wondering... Was searching for a cache which was recently placed atop a recently archived cache and I found part of the old container.  Only the top was still there.  Is that a find?

#167 Thot

Thot

    Funtime Advisor

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,561 posts

Posted 19 February 2011 - 08:18 AM

You will find a variety of opinions on this but here's mine.  No, I would not log a find.  I would log a DNF for the current cache.  If you feel you must log a find, log it for the archived cache since that's what you found a piece of.  But, in my opinion, finding a piece of a cache container is not finding a cache.

#168 OneStepCloser

OneStepCloser

    TeamOSC

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 5,008 posts
  • LocationHouston and Chicago

Posted 19 February 2011 - 08:19 AM

OK, so now I'm wondering... Was searching for a cache which was recently placed atop a recently archived cache and I found part of the old container.  Only the top was still there.  Is that a find?


And we're with Thot.  Our answer is no.

Posted Image

Lead By Example.

Hide Great Caches in Great Locations!

Just Say NO to Cut-n-Paste!

Friends don't let friends mark coords with iPhones. Be kind, use a GPSr.


#169 cachestacker

cachestacker

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,024 posts
  • LocationClear Lake

Posted 19 February 2011 - 08:27 AM

OK, so now I'm wondering... Was searching for a cache which was recently placed atop a recently archived cache and I found part of the old container.  Only the top was still there.  Is that a find?


Did you find the new one, too?  If so, it's a find for the new one but not for the old / archived one, IMO.  If, however, you found the old conainer and could sign the log, you could log both, IMO... if you can find that archived one on the GC.com system!
Posted Image

#170 Thot

Thot

    Funtime Advisor

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,561 posts

Posted 19 February 2011 - 08:41 AM

Did you find the new one, too?  If so, it's a find for the new one but not for the old / archived one, IMO.  If, however, you found the old conainer and could sign the log, you could log both, IMO... if you can find that archived one on the GC.com system!


Certainly, if he found the new one.  I don't know why he'd ask about that.  I read his message to mean all he found at the location was the lid for the old cache container.

#171 Baytown Bert

Baytown Bert

    Short fat dude with good hygiene

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,314 posts
  • LocationBaytown, Texas

Posted 19 February 2011 - 11:36 AM

If you found a "lid", then you have "scored".  :2funny:

TXGA SETX Representative


#172 kianlo

kianlo

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 687 posts
  • LocationSugar Land

Posted 19 February 2011 - 11:51 AM

OK, sorry if I was unclear.  I found the new container.  It's Ruins of The Wizard's Tower GC2NM2D.  But while I was there, I was VERY surprised to find part of what was obviously the prior cache.  It was the top to a Lock n Lock and it had "Geocache" written on the top in black marker.  There was nothing else there.  Well, nothing else I was willing to find without gloves.  The new cache is a great cache.  Super spot, tough hunt, and may survive muggles because it's hard to find.  The old cache was apparently too easy to find and may be in that pile of trash in a pipe near GZ of the new cache.  Maybe I'll go look some more, but according to Bert, I scored.  I'm really just sort of playing around here, but if the old cache is still there, it could be 2 logable caches atop each other.

#173 HoustonControl

HoustonControl

    Charter Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9,913 posts
  • LocationBaytown

Posted 19 February 2011 - 01:46 PM

I think Bert was flashing back to his days in SE Asia and referring to a different kind of "lid".  :o :laugh:
img.aspx?txt=What+in+the+Hell?&uid=1dd8c

#174 kianlo

kianlo

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 687 posts
  • LocationSugar Land

Posted 19 February 2011 - 02:49 PM

I wondered about that reference.  Nothing smokeable there.  Don't think today's kids understand that slang btw.

#175 Mr Muddy Buddy

Mr Muddy Buddy

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,183 posts
  • LocationThe Middle of Nowhere, in the Great State of Confusion

Posted 19 February 2011 - 10:02 PM

I'm not sure if it will last.  It was a pretty easy find, and the two other caches that have been there:
Turtle Rock lasted just over a month before it was muggled the first time.
Escape from Alcatraz lasted barely a week before the first muggling.
Posted Image

#176 Thot

Thot

    Funtime Advisor

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,561 posts

Posted 06 April 2013 - 09:38 AM

I decided this comment should be added here.

 

I just got this log for one of my caches.  If I understand it, this person logged their bug drop from California, they've never found or even been near the cache and do not have the the travel bug they are logging in their possession.  In honor of this, I plan to log one of Cachestacker's bugs I discovered a couple of years ago and has gone missing in a cache in Egypt. 


Edited by Thot, 06 April 2013 - 09:42 AM.


#177 cachestacker

cachestacker

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,024 posts
  • LocationClear Lake

Posted 07 April 2013 - 09:20 AM

Thanks for getting it back moving again!  ;)


Posted Image

#178 HoustonControl

HoustonControl

    Charter Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9,913 posts
  • LocationBaytown

Posted 22 April 2013 - 09:34 PM

Can you spot the geocache in this picture?  Not exactly a warm fuzzy feeling searching for this one...

 

 

c9a2c333-ddd7-476b-aa9d-0430dfb63a91.jpg


Edited by HoustonControl, 22 April 2013 - 09:35 PM.

img.aspx?txt=What+in+the+Hell?&uid=1dd8c

#179 KeyResults

KeyResults

    Senior Member

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,306 posts
  • LocationTomball

Posted 22 April 2013 - 11:34 PM

Nano. Magnetic. Gray. Just to left of "off" on sign ?
Why am I all sweatty and late? Umm...

#180 Baytown Bert

Baytown Bert

    Short fat dude with good hygiene

  • Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,314 posts
  • LocationBaytown, Texas

Posted 23 April 2013 - 02:54 AM

Ha ha!  How many hides does this cacher own?


TXGA SETX Representative





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users