48 replies to this topic

#1 gsguru

gsguru

• Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,035 posts
  • LocationHouston, Texas

Posted 01 April 2009 - 10:29 AM

OK, putting this out there so ALL can help me with this. I thought that I would be able to do this on the DL but all research shows that I need a support group. Guess what, you are voluntold.. LOL.

A little about me and smoking.... I have smoked for 32 years, 1-1 1/2 pack per day. I quit both times I was pregnant and promptly took it back up after weaning the kids. I have never tried to quit before because I don't like failure but have finally reached the point where I want to do stuff that will not work as a smoker. (Deb and i are going to do the Houston half marathon next year!!)

So, with that being said. I may rant and rave a bit in the near future. I may even slip (even though I will try hard NOT to). I am going to apologize for my moods now..  O0

What I need from ya'll.....ENCOURAGEMENT and stories of success.

Thanks and wish me luck!!
Diane

#2 Muddy Buddies

Muddy Buddies

• Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,379 posts
  • LocationAlief

Posted 01 April 2009 - 10:51 AM

Diane, I wish you luck with this.  Habits are hard to break, but if you want it bad enough, you'll do it, and I'm sure you can.  I'm positive that you'll feel better physically when you do finally break the habit for good. 
Posted Image

#3 gabbytabby

gabbytabby

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 542 posts
  • LocationHouston, TX

Posted 01 April 2009 - 10:59 AM

Interesting that you picked the day the new smoking taxes go into effect.  Mr. GT and I were just talking last night how we expected a lot of people would be quiting today.  I applaud you for making this decision and wish you luck!  O0

#4 gsguru

gsguru

• Senior Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,035 posts
  • LocationHouston, Texas

Posted 01 April 2009 - 11:14 AM